Posted by: Opey | July 20, 2007

Writer’s Block: Sometimes It’s a Good Thing

As I sat down at my computer this morning, I took 10 minutes to clear my head.  I tried to organize my mind and see if there was anything that I wanted to write about.  As you may or may not have noticed, I do enjoy writing about things that are on my last nerve or that I can argue about in some fashion.  In that light, I tried and tried to find something that was out there that was controversial or really newsworthy.  I thought about law school, the Brewers, and Madison local stories, all looking for a topic.  I came up blank.  I looked through the major news websites looking for some story, some shred of a topic that would be the seed from which this post would flow forth.   Alas, I came up empty.  Today, and by association the better part of yesterday, has been a slow news day.  Take CNN for example.  Their lead stories on their website are a story about a reinstated Pakistani judge, a relatively small earthquake in San Fransisco, and then some follow up stories on a plane crash and the DC Madame.  The BBC offered no more hope.  Again, a story about the reinstated Pakistani judge appears, along with stories about released prisoners in Israel and a follow up on the Brazilian plane crash.  NYTimes.com features much of the same.  My search ending without finding an interesting topic, I returned to deep thought about what I could talk about.  As I thought, I kept going back to those media sources web pages.  We in America, and the world, are used to seeing stories that lead us to outrage, anger, and/or fear in the news.  Now, there are surely people that take an interest in the stories of today, but I don’t believe them to have a major impact on the daily lives of many people.  Today is a perfect instance of, “No news is good news.”  I never thought about it much, but when I have little to write about, that actually means that, more than likely, there is no negative news going on that has an impact on me or others.  I’m sure something will come along either today or early tomorrow that will present itself as a great starter for a post, but for today, I guess it’s a good thing that I am suffering from a case of “Blogger’s Block.”

Leave a Reply

Categories

