Posted by: Opey | August 7, 2007

Time for a Change of Focus

After staying up last night to watch the Brewers lose yet another game, I have decided that I need to take a bit of a break from the team. Most people would equate that to mean that I would stop watching games or stop looking up the scores the next day, but I’m not going to either of those, at least not yet. Instead, I will free up some of my free time during the day by not reading and researching the Brewers to the Nth degree. At the beginning of the season, I had great interest in this team both because of how they were projected to play and how they started off the season. My interest grew even more through April, May and June as the team managed to cement a first place lead. I would spend a fair amount of team looking for news stories, analysis and commentary on the team. The team’s lackluster play in July and early August (so far) actually had the effect of increasing my drive for Crew information and news. I wanted to find out what was wrong and what could be done, if anything, to fix it. After last night, I’ve reached the conclusion that I might have reached the point of addiction. I feel like I should seek out a group somewhere, stand in front of them, and say, “My name is Opey and I have a Brewers problem.” Time for a period of self-imposed separation. I know I won’t be able to cut myself off completely. I still enjoy watching the games even if they lose, but I have to set the rest of my day free. I will still write the weekly “Crew Week in Review,” but I won’t seek out the hidden nuggets of information about the team that could be the key to baseball success. On that note, I will finally have the time available to me to begin enjoying my other great sport passion: football. I’ve played football since I was very young and I’ve enjoyed every minute of it. Whether it is college or professional, football in all of its forms is my fall addiction. I’ve already written my Green Bay Packers Training Camp Preview and I plan to write up a Packers Season Preview just after the end of the preseason. As for the time in between, I will focus on the Wisconsin Badgers.  Either this weekend or next week look for a preview of the Badgers’ upcoming season here.  This is the greatest time of year in sports.  Football practices are starting up in earnest, games are just around the corner, and the baseball season is hitting the part of the schedule where the games become more and more meaningful.  You’ve got to love fall (besides that whole going back to class thing).

Leave a Reply

Categories

