Posted by: Opey | August 19, 2007

Law School Update: Time Keeps Slip Sliding Away

Well, as I sit here in my new apartment, we in the 2010 Class of the University of Wisconsin Law School are only a little over a week away from orientation.  Orientation, that wonderfully awkward time where everyone looks at one another and, try as they might, makes quick judgements about fellow students from only a scant moment of seeing/meeting them.  It is a pitfall we all fall victim to.  Anyways, this is now the first time that I am really excited.  Upcoming this week is the last few days of work that I have left this summer.  I initially thought about trying to keep my job during the year, but when I received my schedule and talked with a few other people, that idea quickly faded away.  I have come to the realization that law school is my new full time job.  It was really an epiphany.  Undergrad was just an extension of my previous educational experiences, at least for me.  Law school is a different animal entirely.  There are many more things that you do outside of the classroom that have an effect on your law school experience.  Between the different student organizations (which are a bit more involved than in undergrad), legal journals/reviews, and other extracurricular activities, you are really working on law school and related activities for 8+ hours a day.  In addition, it seems, from what I’ve read, that first year sets the course for the rest of your law school experience.  Your 1L grades, activities, and any sort of law-related employment all give you a certain footing when it comes to your next two years and beyond.  Thankfully, now that I won’t have a job, I should have all the time in the world to do what I need to do to make the most of the experience, in addition to having time to just sit down and enjoy the ride.

Responses

  1. The great Judge Alex Kozinski of the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals once said (and this is somewhat of a paraphrase):

    “Don’t eat, don’t drink, don’t sleep, don’t fuck, just STUDY.”

    That should be your first year of law school, if you want to be successful. Getting good grades should be focal point numero uno. Don’t get sidetracked with fraternities, extra-curricular activities, etc. Just get good grades both semesters of your first year, and then do everything in your power to make Law Review. And not some secondary journal, but the Wisconsin Law Review.


Leave a Reply

Categories

