Posted by: Opey | August 28, 2007

Law School Orientation: Day 1 aka “A Day of Many Welcomes”

I hated it.  It was absolutely the worst, most boring experience of my life.  I’m going to graduate and then use my new knowledge to sue the university for the time I wasted.  That was what I thought would have been my feelings following the first day of orientation.  It was slated to be much like any other orientation for any type of new program/system.  However, I came away strangely satisfied, and full of excitement and anticipation.  The day started out rather well.  I managed to get there early enough to precede those who managed to stumble in towards the end of registration, so that step went rather quick.  I then grabbed a bagel, which could have been better, and ran in a guy I took an undergrad class with here.  For the sake of anonymity, I’ve decided to use letters and titles to represent people, so let’s call this guy K.  K and I had a great opportunity to catch up and discuss the change we were beginning.  The law school actually provided ample down time for “networking” and meeting fellow students, so K and I managed to rush out and get our bus passes.  We then had to be at a welcoming ceremony, which was actually rather light and enjoyable.  The dean and assistant dean were to the point and allowed for the funnier acts, the assistant dean of admissions and a professor, to go on for a bit longer.  It was one of the better welcomes that I’ve had to endure.  We then broke for lunch and met with our small groups.  Lunch wasn’t that great, but the opportunity to meet fellow group members was good.  We also had the opportunity to talk with 2Ls and 3Ls and that provided some good info and some laughs.  I then sat through a study skills course that reinforced what I had previously knew about the topic, which was good I guess.  Next up, my small group got a chance to meet our professor, Prof. Crim.  He represents what I have come to learn the WI faculty as: funny, quick witted, and not overly intense.  I think I’ll enjoy Sub. Crim. even more because of his manner.  We finished off the day getting lockers, planners and having a student org fair.  This is where the high school parallels ran rampant.  I also had a chance to meet two fellow 1L Wisconsin natives, W and G.  They both turned out to be great guys.  Tomorrow my group gets the opportunity to do some landscaping and maintenance at a local homeless transition house and I am really looking forward to it.  It will feel good to get out into the community and do some work, plus it will be a great opportunity to get to know the rest of the group.  I have to say I have been pleasantly surprised by the process so far.  Things are really looking good.

Leave a Reply

Categories

