Posted by: Opey | August 31, 2007

Law School Orientation: Day 3 aka “So Now We Have to Study?”

Yesterday was the last day of orientation for our class.  There were actually very few required, or even interesting, events scheduled for the day.  There was one, however, that marked the pinnacle of the week: buying books.  The law school made the intelligent decision to split up the times when 1Ls could buy their books into the different small groups because we all have the same professors.  This allowed us to merely go to our designated area and pick up our massive stack of legal knowledge and sign away our souls.  Now, I have to admit that I was anticipating over $800 in damage and was worried about the possibility of my check having the words “my soul” in the amount box.  I was served a rather nice surprise.  My books ended up under $700.  WooHoo, more of Mr. Stafford’s money for me.  It was kind of eerie as my group stood around after getting our stack of books and we were looking through them.  You could see everyone look around at one another and then the realization hit them.  I’d imagine this sort of thought was running through everyone’s brain: ‘Crap, now I have stuff I actually have to do.’  Following book buying, and whoring myself out to LexisNexis and Westlaw for a water bottle and coffee thermos, there were no popular activities until the evening “bar review.”  I actually managed to get some reading done yesterday, mostly because I knew there is no way in hell I would read a word on the opening Saturday of college football.  It went well, but I’ve yet to hit the case law….yet.  That will come today.  The evening ended with a bar review which, by the looks of it, was rather well attended by 1Ls, 2Ls, and 3Ls alike.  It was a nice cap on a surprisingly great three day orientation.  All that’s left to do for this week is to finish my reading and then mentally prepare myself for the fun to begin next week.  If you are reading this and will be attending law school, or are already there, good luck and I’ll see you all on Tuesday.

Leave a Reply

Categories

