Posted by: Opey | September 7, 2007

What a Week It’s Been

I’ve been telling people, “I’m still breathing, so it couldn’t have been that bad.”  That statement is often made in order to answer the questions about how the first week of law school went.  To tell you the truth, I really hadn’t had the time to take a retrospective look over the week until this afternoon (Thank You schedule makers for giving me a free Friday afternoon).  As I sat in a local laundromat today, I thought a bit about the week I just went through.  It started off like I imagine it did for most, with me being full of anticipation, nervousness, and a bit of fear.  As I mentioned in a previous post, the first day carried with it some great surprises.  That statement also manages to accurately describe the rest of the week as well.  None of my classes have managed to put the fear of God in me yet.  Yes, they are still in the introductory phases, but the questions that have been asked and the statements that have been made have made sense and nothing has really caught me off guard.  In addition to the surprise about classes, the week outside of the classroom went really well too.  The small group that I am in (UW law school uses a system where 1L students are put into small groups and then the people in those groups have all the same classes, including a small substantive law section) has really formed a good “cohesive unit”.  We genuinely seem to enjoy each others company and are all on the same page on many things.  The Deans Cup festivities (Med School vs Law School), although not going the way of the law school in volleyball, have provided some good times and promise more to come.  And who can object to Thursday night “bar reviews” at local watering holes.  Looking back over the week, I think I may have erred in saying that it was a good sign that I was still breathing.  I don’t think that casts the week in a proper light.  Though I’m sure it will get worse over the next few weeks, the past 4 days of class have provided some great moments.

Leave a Reply

Categories

