Posted by: Opey | September 11, 2007

Really Tired

The title is pretty evident by itself.  I’m beat.  Between getting up at 6am to work out, being at the law school and either being in class or studying from 8 until 4 or 5 each day and then coming home just to think about law school some more is tiring.  Now, the first two items are things that many would consider tiring.  The last is something that many students and others do not generally think about.  I know I sure didn’t think about it before class.  That being said, it sure is real.  Take today, for example.  I sat in on a Individualized Instruction Services workshop on case briefing refinement and note taking and it sent my worrying into a bit of tailspin.  As I sat in the classroom other participants bombarded the instructor with questions about what I thought were the most mundane, insignifigant, or easy things to do in terms of class preparation.  Now, many would say to themselves that that is a good sign.  They might think that clearly I know the material very well and prepare myself correctly and to the best of my ability.  I would think that too if I wasn’t an insane law student.  Instead, those questions made me question myself as to whether or not I was really prepared/understanding the material.  I think to myself, ‘Well, if they don’t get it, then I probably don’t get it,’ or ‘Does it mean something bad that I don’t understand X.’  This worrying followed me throughout the day.  I am not a person who actually writes out case briefs or summaries.  I instead highlight certain sections of the opinion and color code them as to the issue, reasoning, holding ect.  Now, even though I have felt prepared for class the past few days, I have started to contemplate reconsidering that strategy.  All of this worrying about what I’m doing/not doing just wears on a guy.  I know that law school will get tougher in the next few weeks (hello memo writing), so I’m going to have to find a way to convince myself that what I am doing is best for me or decide that I’m not doing something right and seek the help that I would need to change it.

Leave a Reply

Categories

